Adoptees at Work

6/29/23



The making of a podcast

As of today, two episodes have gone “live” on Spotify. I’d love it if you’d listen, rate, download and share!

https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/zencareerwithpeggie/episodes/Adoptees-at-Work-Episode-1--Wendy-Kathleen---healing--healer--creator-e252a8e

https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/zencareerwithpeggie/episodes/Adoptees-at-Work-Robin-Davis-e25ou7u

I figured some of you may want to know how to go about making a podcast of your own - whether about careers, or adoption, or something altogether different.

This is not a how-to, but rather a look at my process and my wins and losses and goals and dreams and all that.

Stream of consciousness is how I do much of my first-draft work and well, real work, and that has suited me fairly well, despite a business consultant once commenting that “flying by the seat of your pants is not a plan.” Well, she really didn’t understnd my pants, did she?

I’m a person who waffles between trusting my gut and wanting to read all the things, take all the classes and spend lots of money with experts to get things done. Thing is, I saved a bunch of money (for me, money is relative of course) and then quit a shit job full of narcissists and gaslighters.

A trying to be recovering workaholic, I’m still a worker-bee. I have to watch my tendency to give lip service to the idea of rest while hustling ever harder to make my life look like I’m relaxed while I’m trying to build my world around my beliefs. Congruence is important so I had to stop that toxic job and leap. The net has significantly reduced having had the joy of purchasing a new AC system within the past 30 days. (Good news is that there is no financing involved and the nest egg, while drastically reduce, can be rebuilt)

***********************

Here I am.

An adopted adult, working to release my need to please and be perfect and to actually stay put when things get dicey. Building my third business - career coaching and leaning into my love of recruiting and interviewing - and starting a podcast about work. Adoptees at work.

****************

This series is a peek behind the curtain - letting you know that even if you don’t know anything about something like starting a podcast, you can start.

Starting is where I am now. In some back of my mind fantasies, my podcast is a roaring success, leads me to revitalizing my book, gets me on stages across the world and is my ticket to meeting so many of my heroes in the adoptee space.

Right now though, starting is about figuring it out as I go, reminding myself daily that done is better than perfect and asking people for introductions to people they think would be great guests. After all, the adoptee story is unique and universal and I’m here to share how we show up and why we do each day.