Resources & Recommendations

Recruiters to Follow

It’s hard to know who to trust when you’re hunting for a job. There are hundreds of charlatans spewing fear to get you to buy their system or secret to getting hired. I’m sick of it.

Over the last 5 years there are 2 recruiters who consistently show up to share the TRUTH about recruiting and to debunk as many charlatans as they can. I recommend you follow both of them on LinkedIn.

Kristen Fife. Kristen provides regular posts of interests to job seekers and spends a good amount of time commenting on and debunking bogus claims by career coaches who have never worked in hiring. She also has a catalog of her own articles around the internet with useful information for your hunt, including deep dives into pay transparency, EEOC rules and more.

Amy Miller. Amy is a funny and talented recruiter who has worked with some of the biggest names in tech for the past couple of decades. She is scathing when it comes to calling out charlatans and for me that’s refreshing. She also has a Youtube channel where she lays out the truth about hiring and recruiting.

Newsletters to check out

Since you’re here I presume you like reading and I love that about you. I’ve been working to find useful missives with real-life actionable steps to help you in your job search and align with your career progression goals. Check back often as I add new resources.

Money Talk

We work to make money so it stands to reason that being good with money is an important way to make the most out of our work. There are many places to learn about personal finance, budgeting, investing and more. Here are some of my favorites.


Erika Taught Me. Erika Kulberg is a lawyer who left her firm in order to pursue her own dreams. She started out focused on personal finance and has morphed into coaching entrepreneurs and interviewing others about how they’ve achieved their financial dreams. There is a wealth of (pun intended) information that she has put out - in videos and on podcasts as well as posts on social media.

SideHustleNation. Nick Loper is the voice of Side Hustle Nation and he’s built the site around helping you find opportunities to start growing your side income and maybe grow into a full-time job if you’re so inclined. I like the variety of guests he has on his show and I often take away some great tips that I can implement right away.

Afford Anything with Paula Pant. I found Paula’s podcast 3 or 4 years ago and I’ve been a consistent listener. She is heavy on information about practical ways to make and invest money and tends to be in alignment with slow and steady versus wild and outlandish ideas and promises. She is clearly well versed in using rental properties to build your nest egg and if you’re hoping to learn more about that - I highly recommend her insights. Plus, she talks really fast and I think she’s got a great sense of humor.

Stacking Benjamins. I found this show after listening to Afford Anything - and I love listening. They go in depth into different questions about investing, side hustles and more and if you want a well-rounded view of building a strong financial foundation, you’ll be glad you listened.

Ally.com. I use this as one of my savings accounts because it’s easy, it offers (currently) a 4.0% interest rate and if I needed to access the money I could do so with no added fees within 48 hours. Plus, I can put my money into “buckets” for specific things. It came in handy when we needed to splurge for a new AC system to replace the 30 year old one that came with our house.